Home » http://schemas.google.com/blogger/2008/kind#post » Donald C. Stone Practitioner and Scholar Awardees

Donald C. Stone Practitioner and Scholar Awardees

Donald C. Stone (1903‐1995) was a major and beloved figure in twentieth‐century public
administration. He was the founder of the American Public Works Association (APWA), served
as the first Director of the Public Administration Service, and was a principal architect of the
Executive Office of the President (EOP) in 1939 based on the 1937 recommendations of the
Brownlow Commission. He was the first Director of the Division of Administrative Management
of the Bureau of the Budget within the EOP, worked as Director of Administration of the
Marshall Plan in 1948, helped found the National Academy of Public Administration in 1967,
and served as Dean of the School of Public and International Affairs at the University of

The Section on Intergovernmental Administration and Management (SIAM) established the
Stone awards in 1980. The first awards were made in 1981. The principal criteria for the
Practitioner and Scholar awards are:

 Significant contributions to the practice and/or study of intergovernmental relations over a
substantial period of time

 Contributions that have made an impact on the practice and/or study of intergovernmental
management as a whole rather than only on a specific organization, institution, or function.

YEAR       PRACTITIONER                  SCHOLAR
2013          Bill Stafford                           Kurt Thurmaier
2012          Sam Mamet                            Frank J. Thompson
2010          William R. Barnes                 Richard Feiock
2009          Raymond C. Sheppach          Charles Wise
2008          Bruce D. McDowell               Carol S. Weissert
2007          Alan Ehrenhalt                       James Svara
2006          Paul Posner                            Mryna Mandell
2005          David Warm                           Donald F. Kettl
2004          Jeffrey Tryens                        Charldean Newell
2003          Anthony Griffin                     Richard Campbell
2002          Richard Sheirer                      Beryl Radin
2001          William Dodge                      Susan A. MacManus
2000          William H. Hansell, Jr.          Robert Agranoff
1999          Scott Fosler                            Laurence O’Toole
1998          Patricia S. Florestano             Ann O’M. Bowman
                                                                 David Morgan
1997          William G. Coleman              Joseph F. Zimmerman
1996          Gerald Miller                         Steven D. Gold
1995          Gov. Parris Glendening         Dale Krane
1994          Carl W. Stenberg III              Beverly A. Cigler
1993          William Edgar                       David Beam
1992          Zachary Taylor                      Thomas R. Dye
1991          George Van Dusen                John Kincaid
1990          Frank H. Shafroth                  Paul E. Peterson
1989          John Herbers                          Samuel H. Beer
1988          Louis Gambaccini                  George E. Peterson
1987          Gov. Bruce Babbitt                Neal Peirce
1986          Gov. Richard Snelling           Richard Nathan
1985          Sen. David F. Durenberger    Daniel J. Elazar
1984          Wayne F. Anderson               Martha Derthick
1983          Edward T. Kelly                    Mavis Mann Reeves
1982          Donna Shalala                       Deil S. Wright
                  Alan R. Siegle
1981          Ray Remy                              David B. Walker

*No award was presented in 2011 & 2014.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: