Home » Uncategorized » Request for Nominations: Stone Scholar Award

Request for Nominations: Stone Scholar Award

The Stone Scholar Award Committee cordially invites all SIAM members to nominate candidates for the Donald Stone Distinguished Scholar Award for 2019. This prestigious award, given since 1981, recognizes (1) significant contributions to the practice and/or study of intergovernmental relations over a substantial period of time and (2) contributions that have made an impact on the practice and/or study of intergovernmental management as a whole rather than only on a specific organization, institution, or function.


Donald C. Stone (1903-1995) was a major and beloved figure in twentieth-century public administration. He was the founder of the American Public Works Association (APWA), served as the first Director of the Public Administration Service, and was a principal architect of the Executive Office of the President (EOP) in 1939 based on the 1937 recommendations of the Brownlow Commission. He was the first Director of the Division of Administrative Management of the Bureau of the Budget within the EOP, worked as Director of Administration of the Marshall Plan in 1948, helped found the National Academy of Public Administration in 1967, and served as Dean of the School of Public and International Affairs at the University of Pittsburgh.


Nominations should include the name and institutional affiliation of the nominee and of the nominator, a short statement explaining the nominee’s contributions to intergovernmental management commensurate with the criteria for the award, and contact information for both the nominee and the nominator.  Nominees and nominators need not be members of SIAM.


Please send us your nominations no later than 5PM February 8, 2019, to David Swindell, Chairperson, at david.swindell@asu.edu. Thank you!



1981 Ray Remy David B. Walker
1982 Donna Shalala

Alan R. Siegle

Deil S. Wright
1983 Edward T. Kelly Mavis Mann Reeves
1984 Wayne F. Anderson Martha Derthick
1985 Sen. David F. Durenberger Daniel J. Elazar
1986 Gov. Richard Snelling Richard Nathan
1987 Gov. Bruce Babbitt Neal Peirce
1988 Louis Gambaccini George E. Peterson
1989 John Herbers Samuel H. Beer
1990 Frank H. Shafroth Paul E. Peterson
1991 George Van Dusen John Kincaid
1992 Zachary Taylor Thomas R. Dye
1993 William Edgar David Beam
1994 Carl W. Stenberg III Beverly A. Cigler
1995 Gov. Parris Glendening Dale Krane
1996 Gerald Miller Steven D. Gold
1997 William G. Coleman Joseph F. Zimmerman
1998 Patricia S. Florestano Ann O’M. Bowman

David Morgan

1999 Scott Fosler Laurence O’Toole
2000 William H. Hansell, Jr. Robert Agranoff
2001 William Dodge Susan A. MacManus
2002 Richard Sheirer Beryl Radin
2003 Anthony Griffin Richard Campbell
2004 Jeffrey Tryens Charldean Newell
2005 David Warm Donald F. Kettl
2006 Paul Posner Myrna Mandell
2007 Alan Ehrenhalt James Svara
2008 Bruce D. McDowell Carol S. Weissert
2009 Raymond C. Scheppach Charles Wise
2010 William R. Barnes Richard Feiock
2011 No Award No Award
2012 Sam Mamet Frank J. Thompson
2013 Bill Stafford Kurt Thurmaier
2014 No Award No Award
2015 Peter Austin Michael Pagano
2016 Rajesh Mohan Tim Conlan
2017 Norton Bonaparte Jered Carr
2018 Peter Harkness Karen Mossberger

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: